Home > Book Series

Slaveries Since Emancipation

Cambridge University Press

This exciting series defines scholarship about slavery and its role in the development of the modern world. It puts past and present in lasting dialogue, offering new and compelling arguments about historical slavery’s legacies, memory and relationships to contemporary forms of slavery. We welcome proposals for books that tie slavery’s past to its present, chart the legacies of slavery and antislavery, reveal the modern-day relevance of antislavery resistance, or place current activism in its historical context. Taking a broad definition of “emancipation,” we welcome books about resistance, rebellion, abolitionism, concepts of freedom and processes of liberation before legal emancipation, as well as books about slavery’s post-Emancipation afterlife. We welcome multidisciplinary approaches that exhibit a deep engagement with history, and international approaches that are rooted in the Americas and the Atlantic World.

The series is the official book series of Historians Against Slavery, an international non-profit organization composed of more than 800 scholars. It is also the series partner for the Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Abolition and Resistance at Yale University, and the Wilberforce Institute for the Study of Slavery and Emancipation at the University of Hull. Research fellows at these centers are guaranteed a full review of their proposals.

The series editors are Professor Randall M. Miller and Professor Zoe Trodd. Miller is the William Dirk Warren `50 Sesquicentennial Chair and Professor of History at Saint Joseph’s University. He is the author or editor of numerous books, including the award-winning Dear Master: Letters of a Slave Family. Trodd is Professor of American Studies at the University of Nottingham and co-director of the Centre for Research in Race and Rights. Her books include Picturing Frederick Douglass, To Plead Our Own Cause and The Tribunal: Responses to John Brown and the Harpers Ferry Raid.

Advisory Board: Jean Allain, Queens University Belfast; Kevin Bales, University of Nottingham; David Blight, Yale University; Stanley Engerman, University of Rochester; David Richardson, University of Hull; Louise Shelley, George Mason University; John Stauffer, Harvard University; James Brewer Stewart, Macalester College; Kerry Ward, Rice University; Robert E. Wright, Augustana College.

Please direct inquiries and proposals to miller@sju.edu and zoe.trodd@nottingham.ac.uk. Use the proposal template for submissions: www.dropbox.com/s/4quemj1fdu2pzwf/Proposal.pdf